Founding Faculty of Clement

A friend has stepped forward to challenge all alumni, friends and family to help recognize some of the Clement building’s original faculty Dr. Lewis Moore, Dr. Mart Austin, Joe McCormick, Dr. Bill Andrews and Fred Behrens by naming spaces on the Columbia campus for each of these professors. The goal is $50,000 with the friend offering to match dollar for dollar up to $25,000.

This is a great opportunity to recognize five professors that affected many lives in their over 178 years total service. If you were a student from 1966 to 2011, you probably had one or more of them. Please join in supporting this opportunity.

Bill Andrews playing tennis

Dr. William X. Andrews

Dr. Andrews taught History at Columbia State for thirty-five years. A world traveler, he enriched his class lectures with his own personal experiences and photographs of historic sites and places that he took himself. Dr. Andrews was rarely without his camera, even on the college campus where he loved to take impromptu pictures of students, faculty, and staff, many of which appear in Columbia State’s 50th anniversary book, Opening Doors to Opportunities: Columbia State Community College, the First Fifty Years. When he wasn’t taking photographs, Dr. Andrews could be found on the tennis courts or in his office playing chess with his students. He won the Distinguished Faculty Award in 1994 and is fondly remembered for hosting pizza review parties, student field trips, and his infectious enthusiasm for life.

headshot of Dr. Austin

Dr. Marvin (Mart) Austin

Dr. Austin taught English and Philosophy at Columbia State for more than three decades. He was known for his expert use of the Socratic Method in his classes. Dr. Austin also served as the Division Chair for Humanities and Fine Arts for many years. He was a beloved mentor to his faculty and to his students. Away from Columbia State, Dr. Austin was an avid catch-and-release fisherman. He won the college’s Distinguished Faculty Award in 1982.

headshot of Fred Behrens

Fred Behrens

Mr. Behrens taught for over 45 years, and at retirement was one of the last of the original faculty. An accomplished artist himself, Mr. Behrens was the Art Department at Columbia State for more than forty years. He won the college’s Distinguished Faculty Award for his teaching in 1995. He is fondly remembered for his talent, his dry sense of humor, and his love for his hometown Chicago Cubs.

headshot of Joe McCormick

Joe McCormick

Mr. McCormick was the Sociology Department chair at Columbia State for more than thirty years. A former Texas cop, he is remembered for his no-nonsense approach to teaching and learning that pulled no punches but, nevertheless, emphasized compassion for all and understanding of the human condition. Mr. McCormick spent many hours outside the classroom counseling and advising students, and sometimes doing the same for his colleagues. He won Columbia State’s Distinguished Faculty Award in 1991. Mr. McCormick and his friend and colleague Mr. Fred Behrens could often be seen supporting student athletes at Charger basketball and baseball games.

headshot of Dr. Moore

Dr. Lewis E. Moore

Dr. Moore was one of Columbia State’s original faculty members and served the college and its students for thirty-five years. He won Columbia State’s Distinguished Faculty Award in 1984 and was also awarded the first ever President’s Medal in 1999. In addition to being a full-time faculty member, Dr. Moore was a division chair and the lead faculty for History and Political Science. And, he coached the 1969 Charger tennis team that won the TJCAA championship. Columbia State faculty and staff remember Dr. Moore’s honors History sections where his students portrayed famous Americans from the past, his students’ election year political debates, and his columns in the Columbia Daily Herald.

Giving Form

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.