Dr. Janet F. Smith, President Biography

Dr. Janet F. Smith, President
Columbia State Community College

Dr. Janet F. Smith was named president of Columbia State Community College in late November 2007, and officially took over the presidency on February 18, 2008.  Smith returned to her native Tennessee following a distinguished career which has taken her to North Carolina, Tennessee, New York, Kentucky, and Arkansas.

Smith grew up in Houston County, near Erin, Tennessee.  She attended Austin Peay State University where she earned a Bachelor’s degree with a major in health and physical education and a Master’s in Curriculum and Instruction.  Following Austin Peay, she earned a Doctorate in higher education from George Peabody College for Teachers, Vanderbilt University. She has participated in post-graduate studies at North Carolina State University, Indiana University, Mississippi State University and Harvard.

Dr. Smith is very active in the communities that Columbia State serves – she has presented at area and state conferences, clubs, organizations and events.  She currently serves on the Workforce Investment Board, Maury Alliance Board of Directors, Leadership Middle Tennessee Alumni Association, and Maury Advisory Board to First Farmers Bank, Maury County Leadership Alumni Association, Nashville Symphony Advisory Council and the Family Support Center Board.  In addition, Smith is President of the Tennessee College Association and a member of the national advisory board for the Higher Education Research and Development Institute.

Smith is married to James (Jim) W. Fowler, who is a retired community college Librarian.  They reside in Columbia, Tennessee, with their daughter Alexandra Hiles.  She enjoys gardening, art, and muscle cars.

A Great Place To Start. Invest in Columbia State.

1665 Hampshire Pike, Columbia TN 38401 | 931-540-2722
Content © 1996-2013 Columbia State - All Rights Reserved. Columbia State Community College, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution, is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.